The voice of the FreeBSD Community and the BEST way to keep up with the latest releases and new developments in FreeBSD. DON’T MISS A SINGLE ISSUE!

2018 Editorial Calendar

  • Storage(Jan/Feb 2018)
  • Desktop/Laptop (March/April 2018)
  • Security (May/June 2018)
  • Big Data (July/Aug 2018)
  • Networking (Sept/Oct 2018)
  • Getting Started with FreeBSD/Documentation (Nov/Dec 2018)


A one-year subscription (6 issues) to the browser version or the mobile app is $19.99, and begins with the current issue. Single copies are $6.99 each.

New to the FreeBSD Journal? Click here to view or download a sample issue!

For editorial, advertising information, or questions about your subscription, contact:

Walter Andrzejewski

Choose One of 2 Methods to Subscribe to the Journal:

Mobile App

Click on your favorite merchant store below to subscribe or to order single copies or back issues for viewing on your preferred mobile app.

amazon_app_store Mac app storegoogle_play

Browser-Based Edition

  • One-Year Subscription: Click here to begin a year-long subscription starting with the current issue.
  • Single Copies and Back Issues: Click here to see the Table of Contents of each issue and order single copies or back issues
  • New! Download the issue as a PDF.


Editorial Board

John Baldwin

Member of the FreeBSD Core Team.

Brooks Davis

Senior Software Engineer at SRI International, Visiting Industrial Fellow at University of Cambridge, and past member of the FreeBSD Core Team

Bryan Drewery

Senior Software Engineer at EMC Isilon, member of FreeBSD Portmgr Team, and FreeBSD Committer

Justin Gibbs

Founder and Secretary of the FreeBSD Foundation and a software engineer at Facebook.

Daichi Goto

Director at BSD Consulting, Inc. (Tokyo)

Joseph Kong

Author of FreeBSD Device Drivers.

Steven Kreuzer

Member of the FreeBSD Ports Team

Dru Lavigne

Chair of the BSD Certification Group, and author of BSD Hacks

Michael W. Lucas

Author of Absolute FreeBSD

Ed Maste

Director of Project Development, FreeBSD Foundation

Kirk McKusick

Treasurer of the FreeBSD Foundation Board and lead author of the Design and Implementation book series.

George Neville-Neil

President of the FreeBSD Foundation Board and co-author of The Design and Implementation of the FreeBSD Operating System.

Hiroki Sato

Director of the FreeBSD Foundation, Chair of AsianBSDCon, Member of the FreeBSD Core Team, and Assistant Professor at Tokyo Institute of Technology.

Benedict Reuschling

Vice President of the FreeBSD Foundation and a FreeBSD Documentation Committer

Robert Watson

Director of the FreeBSD Foundation and Founder of the TrustedBSD Project. University Senior Lecturer at the University of Cambridge.